Parents Were Meant to Be a Shield to Their Daughters

I’m so thankful for the things that I learned in Dr. Hudson’s class, and I’ve been volunteering at a woman’s shelter once a week.  You know, I’ve always been the agreeable type, which in and of itself isn’t bad, but when you agree too much and bend over too much, you get walked on, betrayed, and have some of the most special, sacred things to you trampled on.  While I am not as brave or robust as Dr. Hudson, I do wish to add my clarion call to hers to have humanity stand up for the women more.  With the friends I have been making, I am labeled the feminist, and you know what – everyone is starting to realize that it’s not a bad thing to be.
I remember talking with Matt a while ago and he mentioned that you may be reading the book Half the Skyfor some of your meetings.  I had already read the book and had really enjoyed it.  However, something that surprised me was a memory from my early teenage years came up when reading through some of the stories.  Thinking back on it now, I can only pray in gratitude for my Heavenly Father and my loving, INVOLVED parents.

I was around fourteen at the time, eager to make some income of my own.  I remember calling numerous stores and fast food restaurants looking for someone that might hire me, but there were none to be found.  I’m not sure how, but I remember through the internet I caught wind of a man that was looking for a woman to do some secretarial work and perhaps do some traveling as well for his business, some of which was in Russia.  I contacted the man, told him my situation and skills, and said that I would be good for the job.  He contacted me and said he would be interested in an interview.  A date was set, and I gave him my address so he could come for the interview.

I excitedly told my parents about the job and the interview the man wanted to do.  I’m not sure what my parents were thinking at the time, but both of them heartily expressed a desire to meet with this man as well.  The evening came, and I remember the man showing up at our door.  He had brought one of the Russian fur hats to show us, and liked to talk about Russia and the places he had been.  He came into the living room and sat down across from my parents. I stood near them.  I remember feeling very nervous about impressing this man because I wanted the job so badly, and I watched closely as my parents started conversing with him about the job he was offering.  I don’t remember the precise words, but I remember the man suddenly becoming defensive when my dad asked him what he did specifically for his business.  After about two minutes of this questioning, the man blew up, yelled at us, and quickly retreated out the door.  I ran to my room and cried, embarrassed, confused, and relieved.

I don’t know what that man’s intentions were.  I don’t remember his name or even what he looks like, but I remember the feelings clear as day.  And I remember my parents being there for me, supporting me, and protecting me.  So fellow coders, please stand up for your children and the youth – you never know where evil will try to strike.

This isn’t a well organized letter, but I hope that some of you feel a greater push to help the women around you.  Joseph Smith said that “Love is one of the chief characteristics of Deity, and ought to be manifested by those who aspire to be the sons [and daughters] of God. A man [or woman] filled with the love of God, is not content with blessing his family alone, but ranges through the whole world, anxious to bless the whole human race.”  So go to, and bless the human race.  I love you all and the work that you do.

—by GDK

One thought on “Parents Were Meant to Be a Shield to Their Daughters

  1. GoodReason says:

    Ah, if every girl could have parents who would protect her without putting her in a cage! I am so glad your parents were there for you . . . and I know you will be there for your own daughter! Thanks so much for sharing this story with all of us!

Leave a Reply

